Label: Sony Calssical – 1997
Tribute is paid to the man behind “The Threepenny Opera” in the performance film SEPTEMBER SONGS. Modern takes on his compositions, such as PJ Harvey’s cold, brooding “Ballad Of The Soldier’s Wife” and David Johansen’s “Alabama Song” are coupled with those of veteran Weill interpreters Teresa Stratas and Lotte Lenya. Nick Cave’s characteristically aggressive “Mack The Knife” contrasts with Brecht’s version from 1930. Betty Carter’s vocal acrobatics help make “Lonely House” even more heartbreaking, and Elvis Costello’s “Lost In The Stars” is an intimate, passionate homage. Closing with William S. Burroughs’s “What Keeps A Man Alive?,” SEPTEMBER SONG gives new voice to one of this century’s most vital and truly modern composers.
Track Listings 
1: Mack The Knife – Nick Cave/Spanish Fly/Kenny Wollesen
2: Ballad Of The Soldier’s Wife – PJ Harvey
3: Alabama Song – David Johansen/Ellen Shipley/Bob Dorough/Ralph Schuckett
4: Youkali Tango – Teresa Stratas
5: Lost in the Stars – Elvis Costello
6: Pirate Jenny – Lotte Lenya
7: Speak Low – Charlie Haden
8: O Heavenly Salvation – The Persuasions
9: Lonely House – Betty Carter
10: Surabaya Johnny – Teresa Stratas
11: Furchte Dich Nicht – Mary Margaret O’Hara
12: September Song – Lou Reed
13: Mack The Knife – Bertolt Brecht
14: What Keeps Mankind Alive – William S. Burroughs
Notes: Original score composed by Larry Weinstein.Includes liner notes by Jim Bessman.Original Release: Sony
Number of Discs: 08/
Record Label PN: N
Quality: 199 Length: 1 minutes DD seconds